2010 Oscars: It Just Got Interesting

Today the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced that it will name 10 Best Picture nominees instead of five. Sid Ganis, the president of of the AMPAS said:

“After more than six decades, the Academy is returning to some of its earlier roots, when a wider field competed for the top award of the year. The final outcome, of course, will be the same—one Best Picture winner—but the race to the finish line will feature 10, not just five, great movies from 2009.”

Sure this is a return to its roots; the Academy routinely had 8 to 12 nominees in the 1930s and 1940s. How else would Cavalcade have won Best Picture in 1933?

Some people think this is great because more popular movies that just miss being nominated (such as The Dark Knight, for example) will be nominated. But there are hardly ever 10 movies worth nominating, just look at some of the National Board of Reviews past picks for the 10 Best Films.

This change officially makes the Academy Awards just about the ratings and completely discredits any significance the awards had left.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: