2006 Independent Spirit Awards Nominees

It’s official. The award season is here. YAY!!! I am currently jumping up and down I’m so giddy. This is my favorite time of the year when the movies are good, the celebrities are tolerable and the classiest actors arrive on scene.

The first televised award show nominations have been announced. They are the Independent Spirit Awards, given solely to the independent filmmakers of the world, not the big budget studio productions. These are the movies that filmmakers had to work extra hard to have their vision become reality.

Criteria for the Independent Spirit Awards, in the words of Film Independent: “Original, provocative subject matter; Uniqueness of vision; Economy of means with particular attention paid to total budget and individual compensation; and Percentage of independent financing.” Films must have received a week-long commercial theatrical release or must have screened at festivals including the Los Angeles Film Festival, New Directors/New Films, New York, Sundance, Telluride, or Toronto. The group also recently announced a maximum budget cap of $20 million for nominees.

The Squid and the Whale directed by Noah Baumbach, starring Jeff Daniels and Laura Linney leads the pack with six nominations. Four other films, Capote, Brokeback Mountain, Good Night, and Good Luck, and The Three Burials of Melquiadas Estrada, received four nomination.

200 movies were presented to the Film Independent for consideration. The awards will be presented on March 4, 2006, the day before the Academy Awards.
And the nominees are:

Brokeback Mountain
– Producers: Diana Ossana, James Schamus
Capote – Producers: Caroline Baron, William Vince, Michael Ohoven
Good Night, and Good Luck – Producer: Grant Heslov
The Squid and the Whale – Producers: Wes Anderson, Peter Newman, Charles Corwin, Clara Markowicz
The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada – Producers: Michael Fitzgerald, Tommy Lee Jones

Ang Lee, Brokeback Mountain
George Clooney, Good Night, and Good Luck.
Gregg Araki, Mysterious Skin
Rodrigo Garcia, Nine Lives
Noah Baumbach, The Squid and the Whale

– Director: Paul Haggis, Producers: Cathy Schulman, Don Cheadle, Bob Yari, Mark R. Harris, Bobby Moresco, Paul Haggis
Lackawanna Blues – Director: George C. Wolfe, Producer: Nellie Nugiel
Me and You and Everyone We Know – Director: Miranda July, Producer: Gina Kwon
Thumbsucker – Director: Mike Mills, Producers: Anthony Bregman, Bob Stephenson
Transamerica – Director: Duncan Tucker, Producers: Rene Bastian, Sebastian Dungan, Linda Moran

(Given to the best feature made for under $500,000; Award given to the writer, director, and producer)
Brick – Director/Writer: Rian Johnson, Producers: Ram Bergman and Mark G. Mathis
Conventioneers – Director: Mora Stephens, Producer: Joel Viertel, Writers: Mora Stephens and Joel Viertel
Jellysmoke – Director/Writer/Producer: Mark Banning
The Puffy Chair – Director: Jay Duplass, Producer: Mark Duplass, Writers: Mark Duplass and Jay Duplass
Room – Director/Writer: Kyle Henry, Producers: Allen Bain, Darren Goldberg, Jesse Scolaro

Ayad Akhtar, Joseph Castelo, Tom Glynn, The War Within
Guillermo Arriaga, The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada
Noah Baumbach, The Squid and the Whale
Dan Futterman, Capote
Rodrigo Garcia, Nine Lives

Kenneth Hanes, Fixing Frank
Miranda July, Me and You and Everyone We Know
Angus MacLachlan, Junebug
Sabina Murray, The Beautiful Country
Duncan Tucker, Transamerica

Amy Adams, Junebug
Maggie Gyllenhaal, Happy Endings
Allison Janney, Our Very Own
Michelle Williams, Brokeback Mountain
Robin Wright Penn, Nine Lives

Firdous Bamji, The War Within
Matt Dillon, Crash
Jesse Eisenberg, The Squid and the Whale
Barry Pepper, The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada
Jeffrey Wright, Broken Flowers

Felicity Huffman, Transamerica
Cyndi Williams, Room
Dina Korzun, Forty Shades of Blue
Laura Linney, The Squid and the Whale
S. Epatha Merkerson, Lackawanna Blues

Jeff Daniels, The Squid and the Whale
Philip Seymour Hoffman, Capote
Terrence Howard, Hustle & Flow
Heath Ledger, Brokeback Mountain
David Strathairn, Good Night, and Good Luck.

Robert Elswit, Good Night, and Good Luck.
John Foster, Keane
Adam Kimmel, Capote
Chris Menges, The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada
Harris Savides, Last Days

The Death of Mr. Lazarescu (Romania) Director: Cristi Puiu
Duck Season (Mexico) Director: Fernando Eimbcke
Head-On (Germany/Turkey) Director: Fatih Akin
Paradise Now (Palestine/Netherlands/Germany/France) Director: Hany Abu-Assad
Tony Takitani (Japan) Director: Jun Ichikawa

Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room, Director: Alex Gibney
Grizzly Man, Director: Werner Herzog
La Sierra, Directors: Scott Dalton & Margarita Martinez
Romantico, Director: Mark Becker
Sir! No Sir!, Director: David Zeiger

Let the games begin.

Read my reviews of CrashMe and You and Everyone We KnowGood Night, and Good Luck and Capote.