Best Director Nominees

Clint Eastwood for Letters From Iwo Jima

This is Eastwoods fourth directing nomination; he has ten in total; he previously won for directing Million Dollar Baby and Unforgiven.

Clint Eastwood [imdb] Letters from Iwo Jima [imdb]

Stephen Frears for The Queen

This is Frears second Oscar nomination; he has never won.

Stephen Frears [imdb] The Queen [imdb]

Alejandro Gonzalez Iñárritu for Babel

This is Inarritu’s first directing nomination; he is also nominated for producing Babel

Alejandro Gonzalez Iñárritu [imdb] Babel [imdb]

Paul Greengrass for United 93

This is Greengrass’ first Oscar nomination.

Paul Greengrass [imdb] United 93 [imdb]

Martin Scorsese for The Departed

This is Scorsese’s sixth Oscar nomination for directing; he is the favorite to win.

And if he doesn’t, most likely a mob of angry people a la Frankenstein will swarm the Shrine Auditorium and attack Academy voters.

Martin Scorsese [imdb] The Departed [imdb]

Timing Is Everything

This article from asks an important question: Would Flags of Our Fathers have benefited from a later release date?

“Timing isn’t everything when it comes to the Academy Awards — but it helps. Two big fall films — Martin Scorsese’s box-office success The Departed and Clint Eastwood’s faltering Flags of Our Fathers — are bookends for the benefits and hazards of releasing acclaimed films early in awards season, when they could either get a jump on front-runner status or be forgotten come Oscar time.”

Here is the complete article.

Does a movie’s release date matter when it comes to determining the Oscar nominations? Sound off below.

Directors Guild Award

Clint Eastwood is the recipient of the 2006 Directors Guild of America Lifetime Achievement Award. Eastwood has previously received lifetime achievement awards from the American Film Institute, the Film Society at Lincoln Center and SAG, among others. He also has been honored with the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Eastwood is being recognized for his distinguised career behind the camera which includes two Academy Awards for Best Director.

As one of the most prolific, versatile directors in the history of the medium, there isn’t a genre that Clint Eastwood hasn’t mastered in the more than 25 films he has directed over the past 35 years,” DGA president Michael Apted said. “His ongoing body of work continues to touch generations of moviegoers and bring huge audiences into movie theaters. He does it all with great class, intelligence and style.”

Eastwood will be honored at the 58th annual DGA Awards on January 28.

This award is more prestigious than other lifetime achievement awards. The honor was first presented in 1958 to Cecil B. DeMille and has only been presented 31 times. Other recipients of the DGA Lifetime Achievement Award include Martin Scorsese, Steven Spielberg, Francis Ford Coppola, Stanley Kubrick, Woody Allen, Billy Wilder, Orson Welles, Alfred Hitchcock, Frank Capra and John Ford. Most recently, Mike Nichols was honored in 2004.

Eastwood’s Unforgiven received the DGA Award for directorial achievement in 1993 as well as four Academy Awards, including Best Director. He was again nominated for the DGA Award and Academy Award for directing in 2004 for Mystic River.

Congrats to Clint Eastwood who still has it.